October Week 1

Main Purpose

A fresh start! This is the first week seating down to seriously build a confident plan to learn English. By the end of this week, I hope to improve my organization on all aspects, since planning subjects to talk to topics to write, read and validate with English tutors. At least, I hope to get more ideas to make this blog space a good place to record my learning.


Subjects to Talk

Main SubjectConfidence Start Conversation Idea
Technology / Programming"Programming is one think that I really enjoy. Not only to learn and do things myself, but also teaching others"
Technology / Analytics"The world of data analytics is awesome and I always discover new things analyzing data"
Technology / Data⭐⭐"I have already taken courses of the universe of Big Data and in fact, a huge amount of data keep being generated all the time!"
Social / Elections"Brazil is choosing their president and the situation is not so good as we Brazilian expected"
Social / Social Media"I read somewhere that we Brazilian are one of the biggest social media users, including Facebook, Instagram, WhatsApp and others. On the one hand, this keeps people always connected. By the other hand, this can be a dangerous trend that facilitates the spread of fake news"

Classes

Cambly Class 00 - 10m

My English class journey at Cambly started on a promotional situation involving a link/voucher sent by a friend (who actualy is a Cambly student) allowing me to do a free 10 minutes conversation with any teacher. So, I just explored everything at Cambly's website and did my first free English conversation. The details of this experience can be found below:

PlatformTeacherTeacher's nationalityTimeDate
CamblyStuart CaseyIreland10m03/10/2020 (Tuesday)

It was a very good conversation with teacher Stuart Casey and it was a very important start that made me see how is my English level. I started a little shy and I think it was pretty normal given the first class scenario, but teacher Stuart handled the situation very well and soon enough I found myself trying my best to communicate with him. We talked about technology and Stuart mentioned Boston Dynamics as a really impressive project that creates robots in a way we are not used to see. At the beginning, I didn't remember Boston Dynamics but as a long as a did a google search, I remembered seeing this at television and other social media content.

At the end, I think it was a really good start and I also pretend to do more classes with teacher Stuart.


Cambly Class 01 - 30m

So, after taking the 10 minutes free class at Cambly, I registered for a 3-days/week plan to keep my goals at improving my English. After the registration, I started looking for a new teacher. My plan at this moment is to take conversations with a lot of teachers for knowing more people and retain new characteristics that can help me at my journey. In this search I found teacher Ev and the details of this conversation will be explained just below:

PlatformTeacherTeacher's nationalityTimeDate
CamblyEvCanada10m06/10/2020 (Thusrday)

Tutor Ev was very kind and his approach was really impressive. We started talking about a Netflix series called Sons of Anarchy because of a t-shirt I was wearing and suddenly we were speaking about many other subjects, like food and tips for learning English. Tutor Ev worked many years as an Engineering and he traveled a lot for many other countries, including Brazil.

One thing that Tutor Ev said that it was very useful is a recommendation for reading, practicing speaking and text interpretation: the website Engoo daily news. This website is made by a lot of articles from many topics and areas that can be used by students for practicing English. Tutor Env recommended reading out loud some of the articles for practicing the speaking and the right pronunciation of words. The articles at the Engoo platform were divided by level, from 1 to 8, and can be chosen by area of interest.


Possible Reading